

सत्यमेव जयते Department of Science and Technology Ministry of Science and Technology Governement of India Training Programme on A Resilient Future

Science and Technology for Disaster Risk Reduction (for Scientists & Technologists working in the Government Sector) (27th February - 03rd March, 2023)



Session Plan

Time (hrs.)	Monday	Tuesday	Wednesday	Thursday	Friday
	27-02-2023	28-02-2023	01-03-2023	02-03-2023	03-03-2023
Themes	Science and Technology for Risk Assessment	Science and Technology for Early-Warning and Preparedness	Science and Technology for Disaster Response and Emergency Relief	Science and Technology for Prevention	Science and Technology for Resilience and Sustainable Development
09:30 -10:20	Visit to Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (09:15 -10:15 hrs.)	Application of Geospatial Technology for Disaster Risk Assessment & Management (V. Bhanu Murthy)	Early warning and Communication for Prevention and Management of Heatwave and Components of dynamic HAP (Rajashree Kotharkar) (Online)	Science and Technology for Post-Disaster Recovery and Reconstruction (Rajendra Desai) (Online)	Use of Real time GIS Data in Disaster Response (K H V Durga Rao)
10:30 -11:20	Disaster Risk Reduction for a Resilient Future (Shahid Iqbal Choudhary)	Capacity Building through Geo- Informatics & Geo- Spatial Technology for Disaster Risk Reduction (Harish C. Karnatak)	Landslide Risk Mitigation and Management: Strategies and Solutions for Slope Stabilisation & Rockfall Protection (Ashish D. Gharpure)	Panel Discussion on Technological Applications in Industrial Chemical Emergencies and CBRN (Rakesh Dubey) (D T Selvam)	Science and Technology for Disaster Risk Reduction (Sanjay Joshi)
11:20 -11:50	Tea/ Coffee Break				
11:50 -12:40	Transfer of Technologies from Lab to Land and Knowledge Sharing for Efficient Governance (Nitin Maurya)	Role of Technology in Last Mile Communication- Initiatives (Neha Satak)	Multi-hazard Early warning and EOC - Available modern Technologies to ensure preventive approach. (Sanjay Kumar Srivastava)	eForestFire-Himalayan Forest Fire Prediction- An e governance initiative for predicting forest fires (Abdul Qayum)	Science and Technology for Resilience and Sustainable Development (V B Mathur)
12:50 -13:40	Protection of Built- Environment from Earthquakes - Through Mitigation and Preparedness Efforts (R. Pradeep Kumar)	Presentations by participants	GIS & Location Intelligence in Managing Disasters (Aniruddha Roy)	Enhancing State Preparedness in Disasters through New Technologies (Seema Joshi)	Valediction
13:40 -14:40	Lunch Break				
14:40 -15:30	Presentations by participants	"2040" documentary film (Damon Gameau)	Mussoorie Visit	Presentations by participants	
15:40 -16:20	Inaugural Session & Group Photograph followed by High tea		Tea/ Coffee Break		

Details of Resource Persons and Moderators

- 1) Dr. Shahid Iqbal Choudhary, IAS, CEO, Mission Youth & Secretary, Tribal Affairs Department, Govt of Jammu and Kashmir (Moderator: Shri. H. Sankara Subramanian)
- 2) Dr. Nitin Maurya, Senior Scientist & Head, Dissemination and Social Diffusion (DSD) & In-Charge (North India Cell and North East Cell), National Innovation Foundation - India, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, Gandhinagar (Moderator: Shri G. Ramesh Babu)
- 3) **Prof. R. Pradeep Kumar**, Director, CSIR- Central Building Research Institute (CBRI), Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India, Roorkee (Moderator: Shri B. Mohan)
- 4) **Dr. V. Bhanu Murthy**, Associate Director (retd.), National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC), Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Department of Space, Govt. of India, Hyderabad (**Moderator: Ms. Bindia Sahu**)
- 5) **Dr. Harish C. Karnatak**, Scientist/Engineer SG & Head, Geoweb Services. IT & Distance Learning (GIT&DL) Department, Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS), Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), Department of Space, Government of India, Dehradun (**Moderator: Shri Hari Shankar**)
- 6) Dr. Neha Satak, Co-founder and CEO, Astrome Technologies Pvt. Ltd., Bengaluru (Moderator: Shri H. B. Shrivastava)
- 7) **Dr. Rajashree Kotharkar**, Professor & Former Head Department of Architecture and Planning, Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology (VNIT), Nagpur (Moderator: Dr. V D Shivling)
- 8) Shri Ashish D. Gharpure, Managing Director, Genstru (Geotechnical Engineering) Consultants Pvt. Ltd., Pune (Moderator: Dr. Varsha Liju)
- 9) Col. Sanjay Srivastava, Chairman, Climate Resilient Observing-Systems Promotion Council (CROPC) & Convener, Lightning Resilient India Campaign (CROPC-IMD MoES initiative), New Delhi (Moderator: Dr. Ramappa G. Patil)
- 10) Dr. Aniruddha Roy, Chief Technology Officer, Genesys International Corporation Ltd., & Co-Chair FICCI National Council of Geospatial Technology, Mumbai (Moderator: Dr. Ram Kumar Dhaked)
- 11) Shri Rajendra Desai, Honorary Joint Director, Centre for Ecocentric Development and Peoples'-action (CEDAP), Ahmedabad (Moderator: Dr. Aditya Dharmadhikari)
- 12) **Dr. Rakesh Dubey**, Former Director, Disaster Management Institute (DMI), Bhopal & Chief Executive Officer, ERDMP Academy, Bhopal (Moderator: Dr. S. Ramachandran)
- 13) **Dr. D T Selvam**, Dr. D.T. Selvam, Scientist 'F' & Director (Project Management), O/o Director General Life Sciences (DGLS), Defence Research & Development Organization (DRDO), Ministry of Defence, Government of India, New Delhi (**Moderator: Dr. Johnsy George**)
- 14) Dr. Abdul Qayum, IFS, Deputy Conservator of Forests, Chandigarh & Addl. CEO, Renewal Energy and Science & Technology Promotion Society'(CREST), Department of Science and Technology & Renewable Energy, Chandigarh Administration, Chandigarh (Moderator: Dr. Sahadev Chouhan)
- 15) Dr. Seema Joshi, Vice President & Head, Strategic Initiatives, Esri India Technologies Private Limited, Noida (Moderator: Shri R. Vigneswaran)
- 16) **Dr. K H V Durga Rao**, Group Director, Disaster Management Support Group, National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC), Indian Space Research Organisation, Department of Space, Government of India, Hyderabad (**Moderator: Shri Rakesh Kumar Singh**)
- 17) Dr. Sanjay Joshi, Professor, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie (Moderator: Shri Riyas Mooppan. O.M.)
- 18) **Dr. Vinod B. Mathur, IFS (retd.)**, Former Chairperson, National Biodiversity Authority of India & Former Director, Wildlife Institute of India, Dehradun (Moderator: Dr. Nitin Sharma)